Miners chase down Jackrabbits 6-1

  • in

KOKOMO — West Virginia was a rude guest Wednesday night to Kokomo in their first ever meeting, rolling past the Jackrabbits 6-1 for its third straight win after a slow start to the second half of the Prospect League season.

The Miners jumped to a one run lead in the opening inning on a Jesus Villalobos single, one of three Miners hits in the inning, that scored Jonathan Weeks for a 1-0 lead.

Kokomo would answer right back in the home half of the first when Shea Molitor, no relation to Hall of Famer Paul Molitor, doubled home Mark Zimmerman to tie the game after one inning.

However the fourth inning, led by Villalobos, belonged to the Miners, who pounded out 16 hits on the night. Villalobos opened the inning with a single and moved all the way to third when Stone Osborne’s ball was misplayed by the pitcher.

Villalobos scored on James Keller’s fielder’s choice that erased Osborne. A wild pitch and a walk to Samuel De La cruz put runners at first and second for Cal Hernandez, who promptly doubled home Keller. De La Cruz and Hernandez scored the third and fourth runs in the inning when Dylan Harvey drilled a single to score them both.

That would be all the runs the Miners staff would need as they held the Jackrabbits scoreless the rest of the way. Jarron Monroe, Caleb Smith and James Doubet combined to allow just six hits on the night and just the lone run.

The final run for the Miners came in the top of the eighth inning on a single by Dan Ward that scored Harvey, who had tripled earlier in the inning, for the final 6-1 margin.

Harvey, Weeks, Ward and Villalobos each finished the night with three hits apiece.

West Virginia looks to make it four wins in a row as it continues the road trip tonight, moving over to battle Springfield in game one of a two-game series at 6:35 p.m.

The Miners will return to Kokomo for a game on Saturday night at 7:05 p.m.

WVM: 100 400 010 — 6 16 1

KJ: 100 000 000 — 1 6 1

WVM: Jarron Monroe, Caleb Smith (4) and James Doubet (8) and Samuel De La Cruz; KJ: Tanner Andrews, Bryce Rainey (4), James Townsend-Chase (7), Alex Padilla (8), David Anderson (9) and C.J Price. WP: Smith, LP: Andrews. Hitting: WV: Dylan Harvey 3-5 (2 rbi, r, 3b), Jonathan Weeks 3-4 (r), Justin Paul 1-5, Dan Ward 3-5 (rbi), Jesus Villalobos 3-5 (rbi, r), James Keller 1-5 (r), Samuel De La Cruz 1-4 (r), Cal Hernandez 1-4 (rbi, r, 2b); KJ: Reilly Hawkins 1-5, Mark Zimmerman 1-5 (r), Shea Molitor 2-4 (rbi, 2b), Brad Hamilton 1-4, Chris Amato 1-3.



Leave a Comment